2024級香港科技大學工學院-北京協同創新研究院創新創業博士項目招生說明

開放第二次申請至2024年2月13日(星期二)

為充分發揮香港科技大學(下簡稱為「港科大」)的專業基礎研究優勢和北京協同創新研究院(下簡稱為「協同院」)在培養創新創業人才等方面的優勢,增強國際競爭力,實現優勢互補,港科大和協同院合作共建「香港科技大學協同創新中心」(下簡稱為「中心」),聯合培養創新創業人才。基本方式是由港科大工學院和協同院聯合選拔優秀學生加入創新創業人才培養項目,並由港科大學術導師及協同院創新導師指導,順利畢業並符合雙方培養要求者,由港科大授予其相關博士學位、協同院授予其創新銜證書或學習證明。借此合作,培養出優秀的高端創新創業人才,服務社會。 現誠意邀請2024級工學院博士生申請「香港科技大學工學院-北京協同創新研究院創新創業博士項目」 。 

1)   培養項目名稱  

香港科技大學工學院-北京協同創新研究院創新創業博士項目,下簡稱為「創新創業博士項目」。  

2)   學科領域  

         - 光電技術
         - 環境與資源# 
         - 材料工程 
         - 生物醫學工程 
         - 智能製造 
         - 或與以上重點方向有交叉的學科領域

注:環境與資源領域目前重點關注水污染治理、水資源回收、智能環境檢測/監測技術,以及高價物質的綠色生物製造技術
 

3)    錄取及入學 

2024/2025學年擬錄取10人,計劃於2024年9月入學。 

4)   學生遴選及錄取標準 

  • 招生工作由港科大和協同院共同進行,學生可向港科大工學院、協同院或中心諮詢項目詳情並透過中心報名。 港科大按照港科大入讀標準考核錄取資格,協同院對符合港科大錄取資格的申請人進行創新能力考核。同時通過港科大和協同院考核的申請人,將獲得2024級創新創業博士項目錄取資格。
  • 創新創業博士項目採用英語授課,包括課程作業、資格考試、論文及論文答辯。 學生必須達到港科大博士課程的英語語言要求。

         注:通過港科大入讀標準考核但未通過協同院創新能力考核的申請人,不影響獲得港科大錄取資格。 

5) 學制 

博士基本學習年限一般4年,在讀博士學位期間必須在港科大註冊為全日制研究型研究生,並達到港科大的最低在校學習要求,具體以港科大規定為準;在港科大和協同院(一般安排在北京及/或廣州)學習時間各半。  

6)   培養方式   

項目採用雙課堂、雙導師、雙身份、雙考核的「四雙」培養模式,即學生入學後將會在港科大學習專業理論課以及在港科大導師指導下進行科研工作;在協同院學習創新創業課、以真實項目為基礎組成跨校跨專業團隊進行創新創業訓練。 

7)   考核及學位授予  

按照港科大及協同院達成一致意見的培養模式,符合港科大規定的課程、資格考試、論文及答辯要求的學生將獲得港科大頒發的博士學位;完成協同院創新創業課程學習及符合實戰訓練要求的學生將獲得協同院頒發的創新銜證書。 在協同院發出的創新銜證書和成績單上,將加插一份特別聲明,表示該學歷由港科大及協同院的培養方案授予。 港科大將同樣在港科大發出的成績單上寫上具有相同效果的聲明。 

8)   獎學金資助  

協同院為學生提供最高4年的獎學金資助。其中,在香港學習期間,協同院按港科大博士生標準提供獎學金。 在協同院學習期間,按協同院相關制度評定和發放獎學金。 

9)     學費  

學生在學期間須按港科大及協同院的要求繳納適當的學費和雜費,並自行承擔參加項目產生的所有住宿和旅行費用、學習和生活費用、申請費、簽證費及保險費。 

10)   申請辦法  

本項目報名截止日期為2024年2月13日(星期二)﹐23:59

有意申請者須提前與意向導師進行充分溝通,雙方達成意向後提交申請。香港科技大學工學院導師資訊請見官網:https://seng.hkust.edu.hk/about/our-People/faculty 。

申請者需以簡體中文填寫申請表格,並把1) 已填妥的申請表格、2) 畢業證書和學業成績表、3) 簡體中文及英語個人簡歷及 4) 港科大認可的英語考試(TOEFL/IELTS)之英語能力證明(所有檔案名稱請以英語命名),於2024年2月13日或之前上載至https://ust.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2mbpfpH6sDjRiyG。 

同時,敬請關注港科大研究生2024年秋季入學報名程序及截止日期,詳情參考官網: https://pg.ust.hk/prospective-students/admissions/Admission-to-Hong-Kong-Campus/admission-timeline

11)   聯絡方式及相關網站連結

香港科技大學協同創新中心

湯女士     hcic@ust.hk                      (852) 2358 6931

 

北京協同創新研究院教學工作部 

賀女士     icollege@jingjinji.cn          (86) 10 6097 6577 

 

香港科技大學研究生院招生資訊:  
https://pg.ust.hk/prospective-students/admissions/Admission-to-Hong-Kong-Campus/how-to-apply 

 

遞交申請文件:

https://ust.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2mbpfpH6sDjRiyG

(備註:請保存以上鏈接﹐以遞交相關申請文件至本中心。) 

 

香港科技大學工學院官網: 
https://seng.hkust.edu.hk/

 

北京協同創新研究院招生資訊: 
http://www.bici.org/en/onepage488.html

12)   重要文件

 

(最近更新日期為2023年12月7日)

2024 HKUST SENG-BICI Entrepreneurship PhD Program

Second Call for Application until 13 February 2024 (Tuesday)

2024-25 prospective PhD students of School of Engineering (SENG) are cordially invited to apply for the 2024 HKUST SENG-BICI Entrepreneurship PhD Program. The program is jointly offered by the HKUST School of Engineering and the Beijing Institute of Collaborative Innovation (BICI), administrated by the HKUST Collaborative Innovation Center (HCIC). Admitted students will be mentored by supervisors of both HKUST and BICI. Students who meet the degree requirements of HKUST will be awarded a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree by HKUST, and be awarded a Certificate of Innovatician by BICI in fulfilling the relevant requirements of BICI. 

1)    Program Title  

HKUST SENG-BICI Entrepreneurship PhD Program, Entrepreneurship PhD Program in short thereafter. 

2)    Key Technology Areas 

         - Photoelectric Technology 
         - Environmental and Resources Engineering#
         - Materials Engineering 
         - Intelligent Manufacturing 
         - Biomedical Engineering 
         - Any relevant interdisciplinary fields  


# Environmental and Resources Engineering currently focuses on water pollution control, water resources recycling, intelligent environmental detection/monitoring technology, and green biomanufacturing technology for high-priced substances.

3)    Admission 

The program will commence in September 2024 and accept 10 students in 2024-25 academic year.  

4)    Admission Criteria 

Prospective students for the Entrepreneurship PhD Program shall be recruited jointly by HKUST and BICI, and shall meet the admission requirements of both, including the English language proficiency requirements of HKUST. Interested students may submit their application to HCIC. HKUST will shortlist candidates in accordance with the regular admission criteria of the Key Technology Areas, whereas BICI will conduct innovation ability assessments. Applicants who pass the assessments will be admitted to the 2024 Entrepreneurship PhD Program.

Notes: 

One’s admission status to HKUST will not be impacted if they are not admitted to the 2024 Entrepreneurship PhD Program.  

5) Registration and Residency Requirement  

The intended program duration is 4 academic years. Students are required to register as a full-time research postgraduate student at HKUST during their doctoral study period and to meet HKUST’s minimum residency requirement. Students are required to spend half of their time resident at HKUST and half at BICI (normally in Beijing and/or Guangzhou).  

6)    Mode of Study  

Students in the program will follow the curriculum of their registered program with HKUST for their study and carry out research under the supervision of the advisor at HKUST. BICI offers innovation and entrepreneurship courses, including but not limited to innovative entrepreneurial methodology courses and innovative entrepreneurial practical training based on real projects, to develop students’ entrepreneurial spirit. The actual arrangements will be subject to prior consent between the advisors of HKUST and BICI.   

7)    Assessment and Degree Award 

Students shall adhere to the curriculum, and meet the degree requirements of HKUST in order to be awarded a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree by HKUST, and be awarded a Certificate of Innovatician by BICI in fulfilling the relevant requirements of BICI. On the Certificate of Innovatician and transcript issued by BICI, a statement to reflect the award is the result of the Entrepreneurship PhD Program between BICI and HKUST will be inserted as a special note to show that the award is under a joint program. Similarly, to indicate the joint training nature of the award, a statement to the same effect will be inserted on the HKUST official transcript.   

8)    Financial Support  

BICI will provide scholarship to the admitted students for up to 4 years. During the student’s study period at HKUST in Hong Kong, BICI will provide scholarships in accordance with the standard HKUST Postgraduate Studentship (PGS) rate. During the residency at BICI or BICI’s designated project locations, the scholarships will be granted by BICI according to the regulation policies of BICI.   

9)     Tuition  

Students are required to pay the appropriate tuition and miscellaneous student fees as required by HKUST and BICI during the program. They are also responsible for all lodging and travel costs, study and living expenses, application fees, visa fees, and insurance fees incurred for the Entrepreneurship PhD Program.  

10)    Application Procedure 

The deadline for application is by 13 February 2024 (Tuesday), 23:59

Interested applicants must communicate fully with the intended supervisor (who should be affiliated with the School of Engineering) and obtain his/her consent in advance before submitting application materials. Faculty members of School of Engineering could be found at https://seng.hkust.edu.hk/about/our-People/faculty . 

Applicants should complete the Application Form in Simplified Chinese and submit 1) the completed Application Form, 2) graduation certificates and academic transcripts, 3) your resume in both English and Simplified Chinese and 4) English level certificate of TOEFL/IELTS (filenames should be in English), via https://ust.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2mbpfpH6sDjRiyG by 13 February 2024 (Tuesday).

Also, please check the admission procedure and timeline of HKUST (for 2024/25 Fall Intake) at https://pg.ust.hk/prospective-students/admissions/Admission-to-Hong-Kong-Campus/admission-timeline.  

11)    Contacts and Useful Links

HKUST Collaborative Innovation Center (HCIC): 

Ms Tong      hcic@ust.hk                    (852) 2358 6931 

 

Teaching Department, Beijing Institute of Collaborative Innovation (BICI): 

Ms He      icollege@jingjinji.cn          (86) 10 6097 6577 

 

Admission to HKUST PhD Programs:  
https://pg.ust.hk/prospective-students/admissions/Admission-to-Hong-Kong-Campus/how-to-apply 

 

Submission of Application Documents:

https://ust.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2mbpfpH6sDjRiyG

(Notes: please bookmark the above hyperlink for submitting your application documents to HCIC by the deadline.) 
 

About HKUST School of Engineering:  
https://seng.hkust.edu.hk/

 

BICI's Recruitment Updates: 
http://www.bici.org/en/onepage488.html

12)    Important Document

 

(Last Updated on 7 December 2023)